‘With Love We Grow’


Governors set the aims and objectives for the school and set the policies and targets for achieving those aims and objectives. They monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making and act as a source of challenge and support to the headteacher. To do this, they act as  a complete body and as various committees as listed below.

The committees carry out work such as: 

  • Appointing and performance reviewing the head teacher and senior leaders, including making decisions about pay
  • Managing budgets and deciding how money is spent
  • Engaging with pupils, staff, parents and the school community
  • Sitting on panels and making decisions about things like pupil exclusions and staff disciplinary
  • Addressing a range of education issues within the school including disadvantaged pupils, pupils with special needs, staff workload and teacher recruitment
  • Looking at data and evidence to ask questions and have challenging conversations about the school

Admissions Committee
Debra Butterworth

Appointments Committee
Whole Governing Body

Finance Committee 
Debra Butterworth
Andrew Bentham
Kim Sawe
Tracey Gilbertson
Deborah Trott

Nominated Governors
Maths  Andrew Bentham
English Deborah Trott
PREVENT John Wilcock
Website, Online Safety Carol Band 
Child Protection; Safeguarding; RE, Catholic Life and Mission; Collective Worship Debra Butterworth
SEND Jemma Law 
Training Link Governor Deborah Trott

Well Being Hannah Brownhill 

Class Governors
Reception Debra Buttterworth 
Year 1 Matthew Lees  
Year 2  Kevin Hoole 
Year 3 Andrew Bentham Carol Band
Year 4 Hannah Brownhill  
Year 5 John Wilcock Phil Evans 
Year 6 Kim Sawe Jemma Law

Pay Committee
Kim Sawe, Carol Band, Kevin Hoole 

Standards and Effectiveness Committee
Tracey Gilbertson
Whole Governing Body

Appeals Committee

Complaints Committee
Andrew Bentham
John Wilcock

Health and Safety/ Buildings Committee
Debra Butterworth

Operational Policies
Debra Butterworth
Whole Governing Body

Performance Management
Andrew Bentham
Debra Butterworth
Staffing Committee
Andrew Bentham
Debra Butterworth
Michelle Singleton
John Wilcock

Get in touch

St Joseph's Catholic Primary School

Rothwell Road, Anderton, Chorley, Lancashire PR6 9LZ

Student Login